Spotify

Have you jumped on the Spotify bandwagon yet? If not, I recommend you do…it’s awesome!

What is Spotify? It’s an application you can download to stream music. It’s been available in Europe for some time and is now available in the United States.

Sounds like Pandora, right? But it’s not. Pandora is great because you can tell it what kind of music you like and it will use its fancy algorithms to suggest songs you might like. I remain a huge Pandora fan for that reason: it exposes me to new music I might otherwise never discover. Spotify is different because you can actually search for songs and play them right then if they are in Spotify’s HUGE catalog. It’s that easy. You can also connect it to your facebook account to easily share playlists with friends or share a song on your wall.

One of my favorite features is the library Spotify gives each user. Spotify finds all of the music files you have stored on your hard drive(s) and puts them in your library. In addition, any song you’ve searched for and “starred” on Spotify is saved to your library. Basically it broadens your music collection to include stuff you don’t even own.

I only have the free version of Spotify right now, which includes advertisements. They’re not that intrusive and I don’t really mind them. For $10 a month you can get a premium version of Spotify that doesn’t have advertisements and allows you to listen to saved songs off-line, including on mobile devices. I may upgrade when I finally get a smart phone next month. Maybe.

In the mean time, I’m enjoying using Spotify as my workplace DJ, to find songs I haven’t been able to find anywhere else, and to peruse music I think I like but don’t want to commit to purchasing.

Also, in case you’re wondering, it is legal and from what I understand, artists are compensated!

How do I get Spotify? Visit their website and request an invite. They’ll e-mail a code you can use to sign up for an account. You download their music player software and start searching for tunes. It’s that easy!

One response to “Spotify

Leave a Reply

