Our “Etsy” Wedding

Well, we did it. “Tied the Knot.” “Got Hitched.” “Said I Do.” Went “To The Chapel.”

We didn’t have a lot of time to plan a wedding. After all, we met in November, got engaged in February, and got married in June. As a never-married 35-year-old, I had long ago abandoned dreaming of my wedding day. And I never was one for buying bridal magazine and imagining the perfect day.

Between juggling career, pre-marital counseling, and a long-distance relationship, we had our work cut out for us! I hadn’t yet discovered Pinterest but thankfully (oh so thankfully!), I was an Etsy junkie.

The Dress

_DSC4487-001My first task as a bride-to-be? Find the perfect dress. In case you haven’t figured it out yet, Brian and I love old things. And when it comes to fashion, how I wish I had come to age during the era of bias-cut evening gowns, smart hats, and elegant gloves. I searched “bias cut” on Etsy and eventually came across the shop of Paula Stanton, Very Tres Chic, which carries beautiful vintage and vintage-inspired evening and wedding dresses. One of the best things about Etsy is the interaction with very kind, very dedicated shop owners. Paula was terrific to work with, despite my anxiety about buying a dress on-line, sight-unseen, and without the advantage of trying it on. I was not disappointed. I loved my 1920s-inspired dress and received so many compliments about it. So glad I didn’t just go to David’s Bridal!

The Flowers

_DSC4081As much as I love beautiful, fresh flowers, I decided that for my wedding I wanted a keepsake that I could, well, keep! I started to get discouraged when I saw the prices for some shops on Etsy, until I stumbled across the beautiful work of My Favors and Flowers. Linda, the shop owner, was a pleasure to work with. She helped design matching shoe clips for my bridesmaids and even threw in a special memorial flower to represent my mom. She did the fathers, groom and groomsmen boutonnieres, the mother’s corsage, a toss-away bouquet, and a flower girl pomander.

Speaking of my mother, I wanted something to attach to my bouquet, to represent my mother’s presence at our wedding. I was so pleased with this charm from Glass Realm Designs. So much so that I ordered a second one of a friend’s father for her to wear on her graduation day.

Hair

Hair FeatherWe had a bit of a paisley theme going at our wedding, and I was happy to find a cute paisley hair pin from LisamariesPiece. I wore a feather on the other side from Yester Era, which matched the 1920s theme of my look perfectly.

All of these photos were taken by Stephen Costlow Photography, a true talent (who we did NOT find on etsy).

Something Blue

My “something blue” was a garter from Natalie Briggs. And how excited was I to see it shipped from Australia, fun stamps and all? Sorry folks, no pictures of this to show you, but you’ll see her beautiful work by taking a look at her shop.

Bridesmaid Gifts

Again, I wanted to do something vintage to tie together our look (each bridesmaid chose their own dress). I found what I was looking for at Silver Spoon Creations. I was able to choose a pattern that they had enough in stock of to make us all matching bracelets. I customized the order by having them add a freshwater pearl chain extender on each, since I was unsure about everyone’s wrist size.

The Cake

_DSC4712Okay, I admit, I did not find the wonderful bakery we used on etsy. But as friendly as they were and as lovely a service they provided, I could have! I was blown away by our cake. Or cupcakes. Whatever. Let the picture speak to the fabulous work of Willow Branch Bakery and take my word that it was delicious. We had visited a couple other bakeries (and tasted LOTS of sweets) before finding this gem of a small, family-owned business. Did I mention we had a bit of a paisley theme going on?

The Moral

…of this story? Check etsy out if you haven’t already and especially if you’re planning a wedding! And patronize your local, mom-and-pop establishments wherever you can.

2 responses to “Our “Etsy” Wedding

  1. Welcome back!!!

    This was fun to read! I loved your photos before but now to hear the stories of how it all came to be is a real treat. Admittedly, I haven’t really checked out etsy before, but now I feel as though I’ve been really missing something! I should have known after the yellow dress find . . . sorry – next time I’ll pay more attention.

  2. Pingback: Aviation-Themed Baby Shower | my ahas·

Leave a Reply

