Mom’s Recipe #1: Chicken Enchiladas

Note: This is the first in a series as I cook through my mom’s recipe box.

Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Card

My mom was a great cook. Somewhere along the way, this Chicken Enchiladas recipe became her signature dish. Although it wasn’t my favorite dish she prepared, I remember getting really excited as a kid when I knew she was going to make these. There really is nothing authentically Mexican about these enchiladas, but they do make a nice, easy, Americanized version of green chili enchiladas.

First I cooked some chicken tenders in olive oil, seasoning them with a bit of cumin, salt, and pepper (that’s my addition). Mom’s recipe called for cubed chicken, but I prefer it shredded, so I shredded these using two forks, which has become my go-to method of shredding.

Cooking Chicken

While the chicken cooked, I heated the corn tortillas in some sesame oil (instead of the “fat” called for in mom’s recipe). Why sesame oil? The hubby has decided we need to get rid of it, so I’m trying to oblige. It worked well!

Preparing Corn Tortillas

Next, I heated the shredded chicken with the can of Cream of Chicken soup, can of milk, and small can of green chiles.

Filling Mixture

Next, I placed a couple spoonfuls of the mixture into each tortilla, rolled them up, and placed in a greased cooking dish. Once they’re all rolled, pour the rest of the mixture on top, and then add as much shredded cheese as your heart desires!

Rolled Enchiladas

Ready for Baking

I put it in the oven for about 25 minutes at 350 degrees and made some Spanish rice to serve on the side (just from a box, though there’s a Spanish Rice recipe I’ve wanted to try that I saw on Pinterest, of course).

Chicken EnchiladasHere’s the Recipe:

Chicken Enchiladas

1 dozen corn tortillas
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can of milk to dilute soup
1 small can of chopped green chiles
1 lb. of shredded boneless chicken
“Hot Fat” — you can use oil!
Grated cheese

Dip tortillas in hot fat, dry on paper towel. Place all other ingredients in pan to warm. Roll tortillas with some ingredients in 9×11 baking pan. Pour rest of ingredients over tortillas. Top with grated cheese and warm in oven to or 30 minutes at 350 degrees until cheese melts and sauce bubbles.

One response to “Mom’s Recipe #1: Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Cooking through my mother’s recipes | my ahas·

Leave a Reply

