Mom’s Recipe #2: Fried Green Tomatoes

Note: This is part of a series as I cook through my mom’s recipe box.

Frying Green Tomatoes

Hubby snapped this picture of me at work frying up them ‘maters!

I’m cheating a bit with this entry. My mom’s wooden recipe box does not include a recipe for Fried Green Tomatoes. However, I learned how to make these from her and it was always one of our special summertime treats. This recipe is quite simple and there’s no special frying batter to concoct–it’s just tomatoes, oil, flour, salt, and pepper.

Green Tomatoes

I started with four, small tomatoes we picked up at the local farmers market. This was enough to feed two of us a lunch of fried green tomatoes with no leftovers. If they were larger one each would have been enough. Usually I grow my own, but between all our houses and not knowing where we’re going to land when, I haven’t been able to get any planted this year.

Sliced Green Tomatoes

I slice them up and put them in a cup of water for easy breading. Just dip them in flour and they’re ready to be fried.

Frying Green Tomatoes

After they’ve been flipped once, I add salt and pepper. Usually the heat isn’t distributed evenly, so as the hotter ones cook up, I remove them and add more. Here you see slices in various states of done-ness.

Drying Fried Tomatoes

I place them on a paper towel to drain some of the oil.

Fried Green Tomatoes

Eat them quickly to maintain the crispness! I like mine with ranch dressing.

Note: This method works equally well for frying up summer squash or zucchini!

 

2 responses to “Mom’s Recipe #2: Fried Green Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Cooking through my mother’s recipes | my ahas·

  2. Pingback: Mom’s Recipe #5: Bottom Round Steak | my ahas·

Leave a Reply

