Mom’s Recipe #3: Stuffed Peppers

Note: This is part of a series as I cook through my mom’s recipe box.

1-P1020575

I remember my mom making stuffed peppers only a couple of times so I was excited to find this simple recipe in the wooden box.

2-P1020576

For some reason, colored peppers were cheaper than green peppers and I prefer them anyway so I ended up using red, yellow and orange bell peppers. I began by cutting out the core and washing the peppers.

3-P1020579

Next, I boiled them in salted water, three at a time (because of my pot size). I simply used tongs to pull them out and let dry while I prepared the stuffing.

4-P1020580

For the stuffing I used a whole onion, sauteed with the ground beef. I then added the salt, garlic salt, rice, and tomato sauce. I thought these were a bit on the salty side, so next time I might use garlic powder or fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic salt and less salt.

5-P1020584

After the mixture was complete, I stuffed each pepper full (there was plenty), then poured the extra tomato sauce over the top before covering with aluminum foil and backing.

6-P1020585

This is a mom’s recipe I’ll be making again!

Here’s the Recipe:

Stuffed Peppers

6 large green peppers (I used red, yellow, and orange)

Boiling, salted water

1 lb. ground beef

2 Tbs. chopped onion (I used one whole onion)

1 Tbs. salt

1/8 teaspoon garlic salt

1 cup cooked rice

15 oz. can tomato sauce (I used two 8 oz. cans)

Cut thin slice from stem end of pepper. Remove all seeds and membranes. Wash inside and outside. Cook peppers in boiling salted water for 5 minutes, drain.

Cook and stir ground beef and onion, until onion is tender. Drain off fat. Stir in salt, garlic salt, rice, and 1 cup of tomato sauce, heat through.

Lightly stuff each pepper with meat mixture. Stand peppers upright in ungreased baking dish. Pour remaining tomato sauce over peppers. Cover, bake 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Uncover, bake 15 minutes longer.

2 responses to “Mom’s Recipe #3: Stuffed Peppers

  1. Pingback: Cooking through my mother’s recipes | my ahas·

Leave a Reply

