Mom’s Recipe #4: Fudgy Brownies

Note: This is part of a series as I cook through my mom’s recipe box.

1-P1020588One thing I remember doing a lot with my mom when I was young was baking. I think I sorta-kinda remember these brownies but it wasn’t something she made often. We were probably more of a boxed-brownie kinda family. But when I saw the basic ingredients in this recipe, I had to give it a go.

2-P1020589

3-P1020590

 

First, melt 4 squares of Baker’s Unsweet chocolate with 1/2 cup of butter. Mom’s recipe called for doing this over a double broiler. I don’t even know what a double broiler is (let alone do I own one!) so I just did this in the microwave.

4-P1020591In a separate bowl I mixed 2 cups of sugar with 4 beaten eggs, then blended in the chocolate mixture, and stirred in the flour. Finally, add vanilla and nuts.

6-P1020593Bake for 40 minutes at 325 degrees. Our oven must run a bit cool, because I ended up leaving these in closer to an hour.

7-P1020598Cool in pan.

8-P1020599Tastes great with mocha flavored ice cream!

 

Here’s the recipe:

Fudgy Brownies

2 sqaures Baker’s Unsweet Chocolate

1/2 cup butter

2 cups of sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup of sifted flour (does anyone sift things anymore?)

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup of coarsely chopped walnuts (optional)

Melt chocolate and butter (I used microwave). Cool slightly. Gradually add sugar to eggs, beating thoroughly. Blend in chocolate mixture. Stir in flour. Then add vanilla and nuts. Spread in greased 9-inch square pan. Bake in slow oven 325 degrees about 40 minutes (required more time in my oven). Cool in pan. Yields 2 dozen.

4 responses to “Mom’s Recipe #4: Fudgy Brownies

  1. Pingback: Cooking through my mother’s recipes | my ahas·

  2. Yum! Brownies are probably my favorite dessert but I have never made them from scratch. I should try sometime. But no nuts in mine…I am a brownie purist.

Leave a Reply

