Mom’s Recipe #5: Bottom Round Steak

Note: This is part of a series as I cook through my mom’s recipe box. I’m cheating a bit with this recipe because (like the Fried Green Tomatoes post) I don’t actually have a written recipe from my mom for this one. However, this is very typical of a dinner my mom would have made and I’m sure after tasting it that it would have received her stamp of approval.

So there’s a funny story behind this post. I normally do the meat buying and prepping while my husband does the grilling. However, a while back I called to see if he could pick up some steaks for us to grill. I usually try to buy T-bones or Rib Eye cuts. My hubby came home with Bottom Round Steak. Instead of grilling, I decided to search the Internet for different ways to prepare Bottom Round, as I had never done so myself. I remember my mom cooking this cut, so I was hoping to find a recipe she would approve of. Here’s what I did:

1-P1020586

First, I poked the meat (A LOT) with a fork and rubbed it with olive oil and seasoning, before coating with flour. I then seared it in a skillet. I sliced an onion and 2 cloves of garlic and placed them at the bottom of a baking dish, and then placed the seared meat on top.

2-P1020587

Next I added 1 cup of beef broth to the pan drippings, stirred well to loosen everything up, then poured over the meat in the baking dish.

3-P1020594

I covered with foil and baked at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. This is what it looked like when it was done cooking.

4-P1020597

And to finish it off like Mom would have, I served it with mashed potatoes and corn.

Here’s the recipe:

1-2 lbs. Bottom Round Steak

Olive Oil

Seasoning (use whatever you like)

Flour (for coating)

Salt and Pepper

1 onion, sliced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 cup beef broth

Poke meat well with fork. Rub olive oil and seasoning into meat, coat with flour. Sear in skillet. Place sliced onion and minced garlic in bottom of baking dish. Top with seared meat. Salt and pepper to taste. Add broth to drippings in skillet and stir well to loosen. Pour over meat. Cover baking dish with foil and bake for 40 minutes at 350 degrees. Serve with mashed potatoes, corn, or other vegetable.

One response to “Mom’s Recipe #5: Bottom Round Steak

  1. Pingback: Cooking through my mother’s recipes | my ahas·

Leave a Reply

