Mom’s Recipe #6: “Our” Cheeseball

Note: This is part of a series as I cook through my mom’s recipe box.

1-P1030189Well folks, this is the recipe that started it all. The recipe that made me cry when I saw it in my mom’s recipe box. I remember this cheese ball. It was my favorite. I never knew that my mom called it “Ours” or that she had written it for me. I haven’t had this cheese ball in years.

Labor Day was my excuse for trying out the cheese ball, as we haven’t had opportunity to take pot-luck type items to any gatherings since I (re)discovered the recipe. Brian’s parents were coming over and I thought this would be a good snack while we taught them how to play The Settlers of Catan. I’m happy to say, it was a smashing success! (As was the game, considering they both beat us–beginner’s luck and all that.)

I had some difficulty finding the spreadable cheddar cheese called for in the recipe. Or at least, I had in mind an idea of what the product should look like, based on my mom buying the ingredient, oh, say 25 years ago. The closest we could find at our local Kroger was “pub cheese.” Ah well, it served the purpose.

2-P1030190Making this is super easy. First, I microwaved the cream cheese 30 seconds to soften it. Then you simply mix it with blue cheese, spreadable cheddar cheese (or “pub” cheese, in my case), and half the pecan nuts.

3-P1030194Once it is all mixed together, I plop it on plastic wrap and then use the wrap to form a ball (much less messy than trying to form it by hand). I let it cool for about an hour before rolling it in the other half of the reserved pecans. This time, I made two balls out of the recipe since there were only going to be four of us to share it; I froze the other half. I have no idea how well it holds up in the freezer–I’ll let you know when we eat it.

4-P1030195Here’s the Recipe:

1 8 oz. package of cream cheese, softened

Spreadable cheddar cheese (I used a 6 oz. tub of “pub cheese”)

Fresh blue cheese package (I used a 4 oz. tub but next time I may use more, as the blue cheese is what makes this recipe special)

Chopped Pecans

Ritz Crackers

Mix softened cream cheese, cheddar cheese, blue cheese, and 1/2 of pecans. Form into ball and cool in fridge approx. 1 hour to set. Roll in pecans. Mom’s note: Best with Ritz Crackers.

3 responses to “Mom’s Recipe #6: “Our” Cheeseball

  1. Pingback: Cooking through my mother’s recipes | my ahas·

Leave a Reply

