Flour Sifters, Meat Grinders, and Sugar Sprinkles, Oh My!

It was the 1980s and my mom loved to cook. Occasionally she’d let me join her for the fun. I don’t remember a lot about those times, but what stands out are three items: flour sifters, meat grinders, and sugar sprinkles.

I have been cooking through my mother’s recipes and in doing so have noticed instructions that seem almost obsolete today. Such as “sift the flour.” Do people still do that? Because I’ve never even owned a flour sifter since I left home for college.

Sifter1

I used to use one of these?!

My in-laws’ recently reminded me of one of my mom’s favorite delicacies: ham salad. My mom loved the stuff and I remember her buying unsliced Eckrich bologna to prepare it. We were at a garage sale one day when she picked up a hand-crank meat grinder, which we’d attach to a table. It was my job to grind the bologna. What fun! Thankfully, I think she must have done the cleaning of the meat grinder.

meat grinder

What 12-year-old wouldn’t love operating one of these sweet machines?

I don’t do a lot of baking but I assume that people still use colored sugar sprinkles on their cookies. To me, despite how prevalent they may still be, those crystal treats will always ring of nostalgia. I don’t remember my mom making a lot of cookies from scratch, but I do remember making sugar cookies with her around the holidays, using our special Christmas tree and silver bell cookie cutters. For me, the best part wasn’t mixing the ingredients, rolling out the dough, or cutting the cookies…it was the sprinkles! And oh, how generous I was with the sprinkles!

sprinkles

Yeah, that’s the good stuff!

Maybe I’ll find my mom’s sugar cookie recipe in her cookie box and I can feature it in a future post ๐Ÿ™‚

remember-the-time-blog-hop

Check out other submissions for this โ€œRemember the Timeโ€ here.

6 responses to “Flour Sifters, Meat Grinders, and Sugar Sprinkles, Oh My!

  1. Oh my gosh…who DOES use a flour sifter? I have one, but have never used it. But I love how you write about how appliances can trigger nostalgia. It’s so true. I can still remember exactly what my mom’s harvest gold mixer looked like and licking cookie dough off the beaters. Or how my dad’s electric knife sounded when he would use it to cut meat. And I still love that you are cooking your way through your mom’s recipes. That seemed to be such a bond you had with her.

  2. Hopefully, you don’t laugh but I still own a hand crank meat grinder and once a year I make my own bologna salad! Bologna, hard boiled eggs, celery, Velveeta, onion, Miracle Whip and pickle relish….I could make this in my sleep. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • You can’t single it out after it goes through the grinder and it’s an ingredient that helps push the other stuff through the grinder. ๐Ÿ™‚ Pick you up a grinder at a garage sale for $5 and try it sometime….bet you’ll like it. (enjoyed your post)

  3. I remember sifting flour… it was so great when I realized that I didn’t need to do it anymore. That said, many recipes point out that pre-sifted flour settles and still needs sifting… It’s so fun to find old recipes and try them out.

Leave a Reply

