Peace in 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We were traveling over the holidays and I must have missed the latest social networking trend: choosing a theme word for the new year. I’m not one to make resolutions but this year is different and the idea of a theme word didn’t induce my usual eye roll.

I’m typically anti-resolution because they seem so fleeting. Something we’re gung ho about for two or three weeks, which is then quickly forgotten when life after the holidays gets back to normal. At least that’s been my experience.

It just so happened that this new year coincided with a realization I’ve made in recent weeks: I haven’t been being a peace-maker. Instead, I’ve been stirring up dissent, taking offense easily, imparting blame, and not giving loved ones the benefit of the doubt. Ouch.

Matthew 5:9 – Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.
James 3:18 – Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness.

 

Therefore, in 2014 I’m seeking peace.

This doesn’t mean never expressing my opinion, but choosing my arguments wisely.

This doesn’t mean allowing people to take advantage of me, but recognizing that the intentions of others aren’t always expressed perfectly.

This means giving people the benefit of the doubt when I know their character to be good.

This means deliberately choosing to let go of past hurts.

I know that some days I will succeed and others I will fail miserably. But peace. Peace shall prevail.

2 responses to “Peace in 2014

  1. I think we could all do well to aim for this more in our lives. It’s a good reminder for me. And I think it takes a lot of strength to admit this about yourself, especially publicly, an try to do better. You have a good heart, and I know that guides you well. Here’s to more peace in 2014!

Leave a Reply

