Well, Shucks

sisterhood-of-the-world-blogger-award

What a lovely surprise! Drifting Through My Open Mind has nominated me for my very first peer blogging award! Check out her blog–she begins each post with a song lyric, which I totally dig!

To accept the award, I must now tell you 7 random things about myself and nominate 7 of my favorite (at least partly female-authored) blogs. First, the random things about myself:

  1. I have never been sledding. I blame this on the fact that I grew up in the desert. However, I’ve lived in Indiana the last 14 years so that excuse probably doesn’t stack up anymore. Especially since all I’ve seen out the window for the last month is a landscape of white. Maybe the real reason is that I hate the cold.
  2. My husband and I met at a plaster repair workshop. It doesn’t get more romantic than that! We can tell you all about plaster washers and using window screening to strengthen your repairs (and relationship).
  3. I am a “superfan” of two phenomenons: The Monkees and Ed (the NBC dramedy about a bowling alley lawyer). In the last 2.5 years I’ve traveled to NYC, Chicago, Detroit, Cleveland, Seattle, Portland, and Marfa, Texas in pursuit of the dream. And met a lot of really cool people along the way.
  4. Crocheting is one of my hobbies. My grandma taught me when I was eight and it’s a way I feel connected to her, even though she’s been gone for twenty years now. I’m totally at the mercy of creative-types for the patterns, however, so I don’t expect this will be turning into a crafty sort of blog anytime soon.
  5. Pet-peeve of the day: Posting something on social media for a laugh and getting a bunch of opinions about how to fix the problem.
  6. I love old stuff. Especially buildings. I’d much rather stay at a hostel housed in a cool old building than a modern, 5-star hotel. As for all the stuff? The just don’t make it like they used to.
  7. I like collecting items via Pinterest, TripAdvisor, GoodReads, and Netflix. I think I like collecting items for my lists more than actually making/traveling/reading/watching. Sad but true.

I began journaling when I was 12. For a long time, I didn’t understand the “blogging revolution” but finally it seemed the natural progression–the technology of combining thoughts with images and links, and perhaps actually having an audience–is unlike any other platform. To me, blogging is about the sweet observation. Sometimes profound, sometimes light, but always connected. And I’m thankful for those connections! It’s so fun to read what others are thinking about.

So for the best part, the 7 blogs I’d like to nominate are:

  1. Preservation in Pink. A gal after my own heart. While her blog is geared to historic preservation professionals, I think a lot of people with an appreciation for history will enjoy reading her posts.
  2. Tersia Burger. Tersia writes beautifully about grief, illustrating that each person’s grief journey is unique and personal. I first found her blog when she commented on a piece I wrote about grief.
  3. Which Way Now 101. A fabulously funny account of one couple’s “life on the road” travel adventures.
  4. Are You Finished Yet? Kelly is an incredibly witty writer and a personal friend. She’s also a huge Monkees fan like me, so she has to be awesome. Oh, and she has a stacked van.
  5. bamslife. A blog by another real-life friend. She posts great recipes, fun “life-hack” type tips, and insider info on the city of Indianapolis.
  6. The Sexy Celibate. Even though I’m married now, I totally get this chick. Being a single, Christian woman in your 30s who desires a spouse is not an easy road. And she writes about it with humor and grace. I first discovered her blog with this post, in which she discusses disenfranchised grief. Powerful, true stuff.
  7. Silence is Platinum. Did I mention I love all things old? This interesting blog, written by another real-life friend, features biographical entries about silent stars of yesteryear.
2 responses to “Well, Shucks

  1. Aw, thanks friend!!! You deserve the award. You express yourself so well, and the Celebrity Preservationist or Not Preservationist series alone is deserving 🙂 Also, I’ve been meaning to tell you I’ve gotten several compliments on my crocheted scarf!!!

Leave a Reply

