Chicken Fried Rice

I’m abandoning my norm of only posting about my mother’s recipes because I was so pleased with my latest culinary experiment, Chicken Fried Rice. Now, I know it doesn’t sound THAT exciting. But bear with me…

One day while shopping at Costco, I picked up a box of their frozen “Yakitori Chicken with Japanese Style Fried Rice” and quickly became addicted to the easy-to-prepare, quick lunch-time option. However, the meal isn’t exactly cheap and I’m less comfortable these days with processed foods, preferring instead to know what is in the food I’m eating. So I set about looking for some on-line recipes with the goal of somewhat replicating Costco’s chicken fried rice.

Thanks to Pinterest, I found two recipes from Rachel Schultz, which served as my inspiration: Better-Than-Takeout Chicken Fried Rice and Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken. I changed some of the ingredients to more closely imitate Costco’s fried rice (though I’m sure her recipes are excellent, just as they are), and (practically) doubled the teriyaki chicken recipe so I could reserve some for future use. Here’s what I came up with:

1-rice

Teriyaki Chicken

6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 cup sugar
1 cup lite soy sauce
6 tablespoons cider vinegar
1-1/2 teaspoons garlic, minced
Salt & pepper

Arrange chicken at bottom of slow cooker, season with salt and pepper. Whisk together sugar, soy sauce, vinegar, and garlic. Pour sauce over chicken and cook on high for 2 hours.

Once cooked, I shredded the chicken using forks, two breasts at a time, dividing the chicken into three separate containers. I then divided the sauce from the slow cooker equally between the three. I refrigerated one container for use in the fried rice recipe (see below) and froze the other two.

Chicken Fried Rice

8 servings

1-1/2 cups uncooked rice (I used basmati)
1 portion teriyaki chicken (see above)
1/2 cup each frozen peas, corn, and edamame
2 carrots, peeled then shredded with peeler
1 bunch green onions, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 eggs
3 tablespoons sesame oil (I used olive oil since that’s what we had on hand)

Prepare rice as directed. Heat oil in a large skillet on medium heat. Add onions, garlic, peas, corn, edamame, and carrots. Stir fry until tender. Crack eggs into pan and scramble, mixing throughout vegetables. Add cooked rice and chicken (with sauce) to the pan. Mix and heat through.

This was delicious and I estimated that the 8 servings cost less than $5! And my husband declared it to be better than Costco’s! I’ll be making this one again.

4 responses to “Chicken Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

